You are My Sunshine Kraft Card

Sunshine and clouds stamped and punched card

This card is the result of getting inspired by an accidental purchase!  A couple of weeks ago, I was looking to make the most of my crafting budget and I got excited when I thought I saw some punches at a steal-of-a-deal price in the clearance section.  I purchased them, but my mood dampened a little bit when they turned out to be cartridges for the Fiskars Everywhere Punch Systems – oops! I guess I got so blinded by the clearance sticker and cheap price that I didn’t read the package carefully enough.  I did end up going back and purchasing the Everywhere Punch starter set (thankfully on sale and I also used an extra-percent-off total purchase coupon) that included the base and alignment guide so that I could use my cartridges and here’s what I ended up with:

Fiskars Everywhere Square Cartridge, Burst Cartridge, and Scalloped Square Cartridge

Fiskars Everywhere Punch System (Came with 2″ square cartridge). The Burst Cartridge and Scalloped Square Cartridge were what I purchased initially (by accident!). I still got everything for a bit less than the regular full price of just the starter set, so not a bad deal, even if it wasn’t what I thought it was.

This is a great tool for making windows . . .

. . . but not so great for punch outs since the tool makes holes in them.

I do look forward to using the main “window-making” feature of the tool, but at the moment, I was more interested in having fun punch-out shapes that I could use on cards.  So in order to use any of the punch-outs, I just had to figure out how to cover up the holes somehow – perhaps with a sentiment or a circle punch-out?  I also thought this shape would be great with a “You are my sunshine” sentiment, and I lucked out and found a stamp with just that phrase in the $1 bin a few days later!  Yay!  I was also excited to find the cute little cloud paper in the 6×6 pad I had just purchased.

I finally had some cute components for a card and when I saw the Midweek Throwdown Challenge at Operation Write Home to use kraft cardstock I thought that would be a good addition and then I got to work to put it all together.

For a bit of extra finish, I enjoyed trying out “inking the edges” of my cutouts and layers on this card.  I don’t normally do this, but it was fun to try something new and add a little bit more pop to the card.  It’s going into my first and growing stack of cards that I will mail off to OWH – hope it will brighten someone’s day when they receive it!

Stamp: “you are my sunshine” (studio g, Hampton Art)

Other: Fiskars Everywhere Punch Starter Set and Burst Cartridge, Vintage Sepia Archival Pigment Ink (Versafine), Orange Dual Brush Art Performance Marker, “Shine on . . .” 6×6 Patterned Paper Pad (Basic Grey), The “Just Dreamy 2” patterned cardstock underneath the sentiment (My Mind’s Eye), Kraft Cardstock (the Paper Studio), Heart Punch (McGill), Circle from a pack of unknown-brand-already-cut-out circles in natural colors (although I think I will have to add a circle punch to my craft wishlist because it would definitely come in handy)

August 15, 2012. Card.

5 Comments

  1. Bobbi's Treasure replied:

    Love how you used the negative space of the dies. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. jen m replied:

    The heart was a clever way to cover the holes in the sun! This is a great card!

  3. Marlene D replied:

    Very cute! There are not boo-boos, just embellishment opportunities. Great job.

  4. Jan Hunnicutt replied:

    I love your card, it’s cute, it’s fun, it’s perfect for our challenge this week!

    Thanks for playing in our Operation Write Home Midweek Throwdown challenge!

  5. Paula S. replied:

    Very cute card! The papers and colors you used are terrific with the kraft base. Nice job!

    Paula S.
    OWH Blog Team

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

