“Far Out!” Monkeys in Space Card

I stretched OWH Sketch #136 so I could play with the “Changito in Space” Clear Stamp Set and make a kid’s card.

Here is the sketch: And here is my card:

"Far Out!" Monkeys in Space Stamped Card

I usually stick to sketches pretty closely, but we were challenged to twist it up a bit and use punches.  As you can see, I took that challenge and ran with it!  I used stamps instead of punches for the three main images (but I did use a circle punch to cut out my stars and sentiment accent).  I made a few changes to the layout:

– I stretched the center rectangle to be the full-length of the card front

– I offset the 3 monkeys and sentiment

– I framed the sentiment with punches instead of a rectangle

It’s a little busier of a card then I usually make, but I hope it’s at least cheery.

Stamps: Changito in Space (Stampendous, Inc.)

Other:  Tuxedo Black Ink (Memento), Burst Punch (Fiskars Everywhere Punch Starter Set and Burst Cartridge), 1.5″ punch out circle, Small Circle Punch (EK Success), Silver Sharpie, Art Performance Markers for the button accents, light brown paper for the monkeys’ heads

September 3, 2012. Tags: , . Card.

2 Comments

  1. Linda L replied:

    Fun…fun…fun card…definitely worth the stretch. It is a keeper for sure!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!

  2. Julie replied:

    This is really cute, Mindy! I love how you stretched the sketch – that’s what they are for, a starting point for creativity! Thanks for joining us in this week’s OWH Stars & Stamps Sketch Challenge!

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

