Triple Time Stamping and Snowflake Cards

Since my last post, I participated in two more challenges for OWH’s Virtual Cardmaking Party.  I only discovered this organization, Operation Write Home, a couple of months ago, but I have so enjoyed the opportunity to stretch my cardmaking skills while making cards that will thank our military men and women and encourage their families!

Triple Time Stamping

Donna challenged OWHers to try the Triple Stamping Technique in her blog post here.  She provided great pictures and directions and I was excited to try it out!  As I was trying to figure out a plan for my card, I did come to the conclusion that I don’t have many large stamps in my collection that would be ideal for this layout!   But of all my stamps, the largest group of coordinating stamps that I found happened to be some snowflake stamps.

So now it was time (as Tim Gunn would say) to “Make it Work!”

I cut and stamped away, but unfortunately I did goof up some of my measurements on the larger layers on my 1st attempt, but that just gave me another chance to practice and try again!

Here is my 2nd attempt assembled with the correct measurements:

Layering Technique for Stamped Card

And since I used a dark-colored cardstock as my card base, I added a white liner inside so it could easily be written on.

Also, here is my 1st attempt (that really turned into Double Time Stamping) that I tried to rescue:

Rescuing Card from mistake

So even though I struggled a bit, I’m glad I gave this technique a try.

Snowflakes – Not Christmas

Cindy’s challenge was to make a card that was “Snowflakes but not Christmas” in her blog post here.  I trimmed the background snowflake paper on Saturday and thought stamping “Warm Wishes” on hearts would be cute, but hadn’t gotten much farther in figuring out what to do.  (Coincidentally, another cardmaker, Linda, linked to Cindy’s blog, had this same idea – so that challenged me to expand the idea a bit more so it wouldn’t be too similar).

I decided to include a pair of mittens (one of my favorite winter stamps, and they also have snowflakes on them).  I stamped the image on white, lavender, green, and orange paper (so the colors wouldn’t be too Christmas-y) and then cut out the pieces and assembled them together.  Originally I was going to leave the strip of white paper behind the hearts plain, but then decided I would stamp my “Warm Wishes” sentiment across in three rows.  I also added a brad for the mittens to “hang” on.

Hearts, Mittens, and Snowflakes all on one card

Since I stamped a bunch of mittens in lots of colors, I may play with this design in the coming days, so I welcome any suggestions for tweaks.

Triple Time Stamping Cards:

Stamps:  Snowflakes clear stamps (by Artemio) and “Hello” clear stamps (I believe by g studio?)

“Warm Wishes” Snowflake Card:

Stamps: Mittens Clear Stamp (by imaginisce) and “Warm Wishes” clear stamp (I believe by g studio)

Other: Snowflake Paper (scrapbook basics – holiday by making memories), childhood mini circle brad in purple (by making memories)

September 3, 2012. Card.

One Comment

  1. Rosalie Young replied:

    I really like your cards. Love the Christmas themed triple stamping cards and your nativity card. Thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

