Hexagon Cards

Hexagons are pretty trendy right now in the crafting world, and I was specifically inspired to create my own hexagon card after seeing Betsy Veldman’s “Sew Happy Card” (page 31 of the July/August 2012 Papercrafts Magazine as well as the online pattern available here).

Here is my glittery and groovy version:

Hexagons on Silhouette Cameo, My Mind's Eve Where the Heart Is, Lawn Fawn Jessie's ABC's

And a slightly different take:

Hexagons on Silhouette Cameo, My Mind's Eve Where the Heart Is, Lawn Fawn Jessie's ABC's

The great thing about this general design is that I could easily change the sentiment (I made a personalized birthday card in addition to the Thank You Cards above).

And confession time . . . my husband very generously gave me a Silhouette Cameo for Christmas.  It was a surprise gift, and I don’t know if that splurge fits in with my “crafting on a budget theme” of this blog, but I was very excited and started learning how to use it right away.  This hexagon design was one of my first full designs that I played with and cut on my machine.  I do really like that you can do your own designs in the Silhouette Studio software and aren’t limited to cartridges, so I am learning more about that.  And each Tuesday the Silhouette Online Store offers a free shape of the week and some shapes on clearance, so you know I’ve enjoyed checking those each Tuesday:p

I’m thankful my husband wanted to bless me with such a treat and I hope I will make good use of it!

-Mindy 🙂

Supplies:

Stamps: Jessie’s ABC’s (Lawn Fawn) (I bought myself this set as a treat on Cyber Monday and it is much easier to use than other alphabet sets I have owned because the letters are all on rectangle pieces that line up).

Other (that I remember): “Where the Heart is” 12 x 12 Glitter Papers (My Mind’s Eye), Rich Cocoa Memento Ink I think . . .or possibly Versafine Vintage Sepia Archival Ink (both by Tsukineko), Silhouette Cameo, Advanced Tape Glider (ATG) and Adhesive (Scotch), Foam Mounting Tape (3M)

February 15, 2013. Tags: . Card.

One Comment

  1. Lisa replied:

    I like these!

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

