Flying By Cards

I had fun making some of these paper airplane cards awhile back in a bunch of different color combinations (including this one that said “Thanks!” on the inside):

Flying by to say . . .Thanks! Card

Since this week’s OWH Midweek Throwdown Challenge was “Things with Wings,” I thought I’d revisit my original design and try a couple new twists on it and add a couple more cards to my box for OWH.

I used patterned paper on this card:

Patterned Flying By to Say Hi Card

And for this card, I stamped a cloudy background for the paper airplanes

Kraft and Clouds Flying By to Say Hi

For some dimension, on all three cards I popped the larger airplanes and the sentiment with foam mounting tape.  To split the sentiment to fit on my 1 1/2″ punched out circle, I used a post-it note to mask off the part I didn’t want to stamp.  Also, on my newer designs, after fussy cutting out the airplanes with my smaller pair of scissors (which wasn’t too difficult with all the straight images on the airplane), I ran a calligraphy pen around the edges just to make sure I’d have nice, crisp cut-out images with no white spots on the edges.

Thanks for taking a look!

-Mindy 🙂

Supplies:

Stamps: “flying by to say hi” Sentiment and Paper Airplanes clear stamps (Flying By Set from Lawn Fawn), ellipsis (made using Jessie’s ABC’s (Lawn Fawn), Cloud Clear Stamp (Perfectly Perfect Day Set by Avocado Arts)

Other: Fact 6 x6 Paper Pad (Basic Grey), Kraft Cardstock (Paper Studio), Versamagic Cloud White Chalk Ink (Tsukineko), Versafine Onyx Black Archival Ink (Tsukineko), Marvy Memories Pigmented Calligraphy Pen (Uchida), Paper Trimmer (Tonic), Detail Scissors (X-Acto), Silhouette Cameo (Silhouette America), Advanced Tape Glider (ATG) and Adhesive (Scotch), 2 Way Glue Pen (Zig Memory System), Foam Mounting Tape (3M)

June 18, 2013. Tags: . Card.

3 Comments

  1. Christina replied:

    I love these cards! The paper airplanes are so cute! My boys are always asking me to make them paper airplanes.

  2. MizDenise replied:

    Hi, just found your blog & love your style! I also use a Cameo & want the same sized thin borders you use for your matting/background layers. Do you use the external offset feature to make them?? If so, what number do you enter to get them? Hope that makes sense

    • sweetlysimplestamper replied:

      Hi Denise – Thanks for your comment! The white circle was just from a 1 1/2″ punch and I just used my trimmer for the rectangular layers. I have liked setting the offset to .15 in the past – I think in this case I just made a circle that was around 1.65″ or 1.72″ or something but I don’t quite remember. I know the first background circle I made was a little larger than I liked, so I adjusted my settings for smaller circles. I’ll try to pay better attention to my settings in the future:) – Mindy

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

