Stenciled Hexagon Happy Birthday Cards

Yesterday was the first day of the “Stenciled!” Online Card Class and the topic was inking and misting.  My “homework” was inspired by the techniques that Jennifer McGuire and Julie Ebersole shared in their Day 1 Class videos.

I cut the hexagon stencil on my Silhouette (out of the Silhouette Chipboard) and I secured the stencil on the cardstock with painter’s tape on a working surface.  For these cards, I used Distress Stain – I took off the applicator of the ink I wanted and poured it into a little mister that I already had (it was part of a travel toiletries kit).  For the first card, I mixed some blue and yellow stain to make a light green in the first card. It was fun getting inky – I have never really used these tools or misting techniques before, so I had fun experimenting with it – and by the end my hands were covered in ink too!

Here is my “Speckled” Card:

Tim Holtz Distress Stain, Lawn Fawn Milo's ABC's

And here is my “Bold” Card:

Tim Holtz Distress Stain, Lawn Fawn Milo's ABC's, Stenciled Online Card ClassBirthdays always seem to sneak up on me, so I thought I’d turn my creations into birthday cards to have on hand.  I used Lawn Fawn’s “Milo’s ABC’s” to make a “Happy Birthday” sentiment.

Thanks for taking a look and hope you enjoy making your own creations!

-Mindy : )

Supplies:

Stamps:  Milo’s ABC’s (Lawn Fawn)

Other: Tim Holtz Barn Red Distress Stain (Ranger), Tim Holtz Distress Stain Mustard Seed (Ranger), Tim Holtz Faded Jeans Distress Stain (Ranger), Versamagic Cloud White Chalk Ink (Tsukineko), White Zing Embossing Powder (American Crafts), Heat Tool (Martha Stewart), Memento Lady Bug Dew Drop Ink (Tsukineko), Paper Trimmer (Tonic), Silhouette Cameo (Silhouette America), Chipboard (Silhouette), Blue Painter’s Tape (3M), Advanced Tape Glider (ATG) and Adhesive (Scotch)

January 26, 2014. Tags: , . Card.

One Comment

  1. Stenciled Cards with Sequins | Sweetly Simple Stamper's Blog replied:

    […] Just wanted to share two more Day 1 “homework” cards that I made for the Stenciled Online Card Class.  My first two cards are here. […]

Leave a Comment

Trackback URI

